Austin.Reed

Icon

if you have ever had to make a [web banner]

Have you ever had to make one or look at them specifically for a homework assignment? I have, and i am here to tell you that there are many, many poorly designed banners out there. I think the reason they have such a bad wrap because most of them are ugly and take up valuable real estate. They flash and blink and are pretty annoying, especially the ones that play sound (especially when you are in the library and you forget that your speakers are cranked to 10.) I digress. Our assignment was to find two web banners that were cleverly designed. It was a pretty serious endeavor to say the least. I did manage to find a few though:

via:http://www.mccoy.co.uk/

This banner I found surfing portfolio sites of graphic designers via StumbleUpon, (which you desperately need if you do not have it already). I think this banner is pretty interesting because of the background image. I feel like it was an appropriate decision to turn the banner into a speaker cabinet. It is more effective because it is a very substantial object. The typefaces used are Cooper Std and Helvetica, I believe. Both of which are respectable typefaces and shows that the designer actually had a thought process instead of just slapping things down and making the banner blink. I am not sold on the contrast boxes behind the smaller copy, but I guess you have to compromise with the web somewhere, right?

via:C&M Consulting

This one is pretty cheesy and not completely legible. White text would have helped set off the supplementary text. I really enjoy overlaying textures, its a great effect, but it seems out of place here. The background image is beautiful. I have an affinity for light switches and taking photographs of them, so I immediately was drawn to this banner. I feel like the bottom line here is to aim for high contrast and simplify the information as much as possible. I feel like having less text on a banner might persuade a viewer to click on it easier because of its aesthetics. Time to go make one of these things. wish me luck.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

